Mission Statement

Comics, graphic novels, comics reports, cartoons, satirical drawings or animated movies have one thing in common : They are all drawings that tell us a story. The Cartoonmuseum Basel is the only museum and centre of excellence in Switzerland devoted exclusively to the art of narrative drawing. Its mission is to collect individual works, curate exhibitions and share knowledge about the genre. The museum contributes to the debate about the art of narrative drawing and about the social and political issues it addresses.

The museum grew out of its substantial collection of over 6000 original drawings by renowned national and international artists. Today, the museum’s focus lies on carefully curated exhibitions displaying the works of a single artist or illustrating a specific theme.

Every exhibition is curated professionally and geared towards an international audience. The Cartoonmuseum Basel documents, promotes, teaches and challenges the art of narrative drawing. Our exhibitions focus on the artistic aspects of drawing, and on the creative process leading to a picture or a story. Visitors can explore different styles, traditions and artistic positions. All works are embedded in their historical or social context. The exhibitions cover a broad range of topics: from classical to contemporary works, from thematic exhibitions to monographic retrospectives. Related genres such as free drawing, illustration or animation are also within the scope of the museum. These contemporary genres attract younger artists and audiences.

The Cartoonmuseum Basel is actively liaising with other international museums, institutions and individuals working with the art of narrative drawing. Every exhibition is accompanied by a series of events such as lectures, talks and workshops. These events focus on a specific theme or the cultural and historical background of the current exhibition.


Annual report

Director/Curator

Anette Gehrig
a.gehrig@cartoonmuseum.ch

Assistant to the Museum Director

Alena Kress 
a.kress@cartoonmuseum.ch

Head of Shop/Reception

Samantha Bersano
s.bersano@cartoonmuseum.ch

Assistant Marketing

Melanie Uhlmann
m.uhlmann@cartoonmuseum.ch

Team Art Education (Freelance)

Alessia Conidi
Gabriela Giallombardo
Martina Gmür
Judith Schifferle

Team Reception (Temporary)

Monica Kilchherr (Volunteer)
Nina Burger
Gabriela Giallombardo
Oliver Eberli
Bettina Koechlin
Melanie Uhlmann
Christine Weber
empfang@cartoonmuseum.ch

The Board of Trustees

Lilli Strassmann (President)
Dr. Gabriela Christen
Angela Heimberg
Nathalie Unternährer
Roland Wetzel

History

The founder and donor of the Cartoonmuseum Basel was Dieter Burckhardt (1914–1991), an important patron from a well-to-do Basel family, who wanted to make his private collection of caricatures and cartoons accessible to a wider audience. In 1979 he founded the “Stiftung Sammlung Karikaturen & Cartoons”, which has been managed by the larger Christoph Merian Foundation since the beginning. Both the collection and the museum have never received any public funding. In 1980, the first exhibition opened at St. Alban-Vorstadt 9.

In 1991, the foundation bought a house on St. Alban-Vorstadt 28, which was subsequently restored and expanded by Herzog & de Meuron Architects. The new building offered significantly larger exhibition space as well as more room for the library and the museum shop. In May 1996, the new Karikatur & Cartoon Museum Basel was opened to the public.

In 2009, the museum was renamed “Cartoonmuseum Basel”. It was a significant step towards a clearer identity and communication on all levels, including the website www.cartoonmuseum.ch, which had been relaunched earlier. With a new name, a new mission statement and a new corporate design, the Cartoonmuseum Basel stands out as the only museum in Switzerland dedicated exclusively to the art of narrative drawing.

Atrium with walkways.
View into the newly built rear building.

Shop

Our shop’s hallmark is its huge selection of postcards. In addition, we have an exquisite range of books, as well as postcards and catalogues to accompany our current exhibition. Besides the books, our vouchers for admission to the museum are the perfect gift.

All publications can be purchased in our online shop or at the Cartoonmuseum.


Library

In our library, you will find everything related to caricatures, cartoons and comics: the great classics and illustrators, discoveries, peculiarities, and reference materials. The collection was donated in large part by Dieter Burckhardt and is added to by the Cartoonmuseum on an ongoing basis.

The library is accessible during the museum’s opening hours.

Architecture

The Cartoonmuseum Basel consists of both a late Gothic building on a historical stretch of street and an unexpected hidden new construction at the same location. Visitors enter the three-storey museum through the old, front-facing building, which houses the foyer with the museum shop, exhibition rooms, the library and the office, refurbished by the Basel architects Herzog & de Meuron. By way of a bright atrium with glass-walled service bridges, they reach the rear building, a new construction designed by Herzog & de Meuron which has three more exhibition rooms. The two buildings cover a total area of ca. 350 square metres, of which about 300 square metres are exhibition space.

Due to the historical fabric of the old building, only the ground floor of the museum is accessible for wheelchairs.

Leitbild

Ob als Comic, Graphic Novel, Reportage, Cartoon, Karikatur oder Trickfilm – Zeichnungen erzählen Geschichten. Als einziges Schweizer Museum und Kompetenzzentrum widmet sich das Cartoonmuseum Basel ausschliesslich der Kunst der narrativen Zeichnung. Es sammelt, präsentiert und vermittelt und leistet damit einen Beitrag zur Diskussion über diese Kunstform und über die gesellschaftlichen Themen, die sie aufnimmt.

Der Ursprung des Museums liegt in seiner bedeutenden Sammlung von über 6000 Originalwerken renommierter nationaler und internationaler Künstlerinnen und Künstler. Heute liegt der Schwerpunkt der Arbeit in den sorgfältig kuratierten Ausstellungen zu einem aktuellen Thema oder einem einzelnen Künstler bzw. einer einzelnen Künstlerin.

Jede Ausstellung wird professionell und aufwendig für ein internationales Publikum gestaltet. Das Cartoonmuseum dokumentiert, vermittelt, fördert und hinterfragt die Kunst der narrativen Zeichnung. Im Zentrum steht die Kunst des Zeichnens und der kreative Prozess, in dem Bilder und Geschichten entstehen. Die Ausstellungen eröffnen einen Zugang zu unterschiedlichen Zeichenstilen, Traditionen und künstlerischen Positionen. Die Werke werden jeweils auch in einen historischen oder gesellschaftlichen Kontext eingebettet. Inhaltlich ist das Spektrum der Ausstellungen sehr breit: von klassischen Arbeiten bis zu zeitgenössischen Werken, von der themenbezogenen Ausstellung bis zur Werkschau eines einzelnen Künstlers. Auch verwandte Genres wie die freie Zeichnung, Illustration oder Animation werden in die Ausstellungen integriert. Damit spricht das Cartoonmuseum auch die jüngere Generation von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern und ein junges Publikum an.

Das Cartoonmuseum Basel sucht den Kontakt und die Kooperation mit internationalen Museen, Institutionen und Personen, die sich gleichen oder verwandten Themen widmen. Zu jeder Ausstellung wird ein Begleitprogramm organisiert mit Diskussionen, Workshops, Führungen und Künstlergesprächen. Auch die Veranstaltungen beschäftigen sich mit zeitgenössischen Themen oder mit dem kulturhistorischen Hintergrund der jeweiligen Ausstellung. 


Jahresbericht

Leiterin/Kuratorin

Anette Gehrig
a.gehrig@cartoonmuseum.ch

Assistentin der Museumsleiterin

Alena Kress 
a.kress@cartoonmuseum.ch

Verantwortliche Shop/Empfang

Samantha Bersano
s.bersano@cartoonmuseum.ch

​Sammlungsassistenz

Alessia Conidi
a.conidi@cartoonmuseum.ch

Marketingassistenz

Melanie Uhlmann
m.uhlmann@cartoonmuseum.ch

Team Kunstvermittlung (Freelance)

Alessia Conidi
Gabriela Giallombardo
Martina Gmür
Judith Schifferle

Team Empfang (Teilzeit)

Monica Kilchherr
(Freiwillige Mitarbeit)
Nina Burger
Oliver Eberli
Bettina Koechlin
Melanie Uhlmann
Christine Weber
empfang@cartoonmuseum.ch

Stiftungsrat

Lilli Strassmann
(Stiftungsratspräsidentin)
Dr. Gabriela Christen
Angela Heimberg
Nathalie Unternährer
Roland Wetzel

Geschichte

Gründer und Stifter des Cartoonmuseums Basel war der Basler Mäzen Dieter Burckhardt (1914–1991), der seine private Sammlung von Karikaturen und Cartoons einer breiten Öffentlichkeit zugänglich machen wollte. Er rief 1979 die Stiftung Sammlung Karikaturen & Cartoons ins Leben, die bis heute von der Christoph Merian Stiftung verwaltet wird. Von Anfang an wurden Sammlung und Museum ohne staatliche Subventionen geführt. Bereits 1980 wurde die erste Ausstellung an der St. Alban-Vorstadt 9 eröffnet.


1991 gelang es der Stiftung Sammlung Karikaturen & Cartoons, eine Altstadtliegenschaft an der St. Alban-Vorstadt 28 zu erwerben, die in der Folge von den renommierten Basler Architekten Herzog & de Meuron saniert und um einen Neubau erweitert wurde. Damit wurde die Ausstellungsfläche markant vergrössert, Bibliothek und Shop wurden ausgebaut. Im Mai 1996 eröffnete das neue Karikatur & Cartoon Museum Basel.


2009 wurde das Karikatur & Cartoon Museum in Cartoonmuseum Basel umbenannt. Das war ein wichtiger Schritt zugunsten der klaren Kommunikation auf allen Ebenen, den die Website www.cartoonmuseum.ch bereits vorweggenommen hatte. Mit dem neuen Namen, einem neuen Leitbild und einem zeitgemässen grafischen Auftritt positioniert sich das Cartoonmuseum Basel als einziges Museum der Schweiz, das sich ausschliesslich der Kunst der narrativen Zeichnung widmet

Lichthof mit Passerellen,
Sicht in das neugebaute Hinterhaus

Shop

Das Markenzeichen des Shops ist sein riesiges Postkartensortiment. Er führt zusätzlich eine feine Auswahl an Büchern und ergänzt jede Ausstellung mit Postkarten und Alben zum Thema. Neben unserem Bücherangebot empfehlen sich die hier erhältlichen Eintrittsgutscheine als Geschenkidee.

Alle Publikationen können online in unserem Shop oder im Cartoonmuseum gekauft werden.


Bibliothek

In der Bibliothek finden Sie alles zu Karikatur, Cartoon und Comic: die grossen Klassiker und Zeichner, Entdeckungen, Schräges und Sekundärliteratur. Der Bestand wurde zu einem grossen Teil von Dieter Burckhardt gestiftet und wird vom Cartoonmuseum laufend ausgebaut.

Die Bibliothek ist zu den Öffnungszeiten des Museums zugänglich.

Architektur

Das Cartoonmuseum Basel ist eine in ihren Ursprüngen spätgotische Liegenschaft in einer historischen Strassenzeile und gleichzeitig ein versteckter, an dieser Lage unerwarteter Neubau. Besuchende betreten das dreistöckige Museum durch das Vorderhaus, den Altbau, der das von den Basler Architekten Herzog & de Meuron gestaltete Foyer mit dem Museumsshop, Ausstellungsräume, die Bibliothek und das Büro beherbergt. Über einen Lichthof mit Passerellen erreichen Sie das Hinterhaus, einen von Herzog & de Meuron erstellten Neubau mit weiteren drei Ausstellungsräumen. Die Gesamtfläche beider Häuser beträgt ca. 350 m², davon sind ca. 300 m² Ausstellungsfläche.

Das Museum ist aufgrund der alten Bausubstanz nur im Erdgeschoss rollstuhlgängig.