Upcoming Exhibition

Tom Tirabosco
Wonderland

23.11.2019 — 8.3.2020

01 Tirabosco Poster

Tom Tirabosco belongs to a generation of Nouvelle BD comics authors from Romandy, who have been attracting attention for several years with unusual and unconventional works. Born in 1966 in Rome, he has lived in Geneva since 1970 and also has his studio there today. His admiration of painters like Bruegel, Titian and Veronese caused him to study at Accademia di Belle Arti di Venezia and later at École supérieure des arts visuels in Geneva.

As an illustrator and comics artist, Tirabosco has an affinity with painting, but does not actually paint in the narrower sense of the word. His special monotype-like technique on grainy paper characterises his distinct, very vivid style with soft contours, subtle shades of grey and chalky colour fields. Tirabosco is internationally renowned as an illustrator and simultaneously as an imaginative storyteller, who is just as comfortable with autobiographical or surreal material as he is with socio-critical or humorous subject matter. Thanks to this thematic diversity, Tirabosco is known not only for his comic albums published by major French comics publishers, but also for illustrations and cartoons in magazines like “Strapazin”, “Drozophile”, “Libération” and “L’Hébdo”. In addition, he is an insightful children’s book author with a definite understanding of young readers. His latest release is the narrative comic “Femme sauvage”, a gripping and almost wordless warning on the consequences of how we treat nature.

The awards that Tirabosco has received include the Prix oecuménique at the 36th Angoulême International Comics Festival and in 2013 he was presented with the Prix Rodolphe Töpffer by the City of Geneva for the second time. The exhibition at Cartoonmuseum Basel is this artist’s first retrospective in the German-speaking world.

Kommende Ausstellung

Tom Tirabosco
Wonderland

23.11.2019 — 8.3.2020

Tirabosco Treeman Portrait Web

Tom Tirabosco gehört zu einer Generation von Westschweizer Comicautoren, die seit einigen Jahren mit aussergewöhnlichen und eigenwilligen Arbeiten auf sich aufmerksam machen. 1966 in Rom geboren, lebt er seit 1970 lebt in Genf, wo er heute auch sein Atelier hat. Seine Bewunderung für grosse Maler wie Bruegel, Tizian und Veronese liessen ihn an der Accademia di Belle Arti di Venezia und später an der École supérieure des arts visuels in Genf studieren.

Wie seine Vorbilder Lorenzo Mattotti, Thomas Ott und Dave McKean ist Tirabosco als Illustrator und Comiczeichner der Malerei verbunden, ohne im engeren Sinn zu malen. Seine spezielle, der Monotypie verwandte Technik auf körnigem Papier prägt seinen eigenständigen, sehr plastischen Stil mit weichen Konturen, subtilen Graustufen und kreidigen Farbflächen. Tirabosco ist ein international beachteter, grossartiger Zeichner und gleichzeitig ein fantasievoller Erzähler, der in autobiografischen oder surrealen Stoffen genau so zu Hause ist wie in gesellschaftskritischen oder humorvollen. Dank dieser thematischen Vielfalt ist Tirabosco neben seinen Comicalben, die bei grossen französischen Comic-Verlagen publiziert werden, bekannt für Illustrationen und Cartoons in Magazinen wie «Strapazin», «Drozophile», «Libération» und «L’Hébdo». Zudem ist er ein einfühlsamer Kinderbuchautor mit einem sicheren Gespür für junge Leserinnen und Leser.

Tirabosco hat unter anderen den Prix œcuménique beim 36. Festival in Angoulême und 2013 zum zweiten Mal den Prix Rodolphe Töpffer der Stadt Genf erhalten. Die Ausstellung im Cartoonmuseum Basel ist die erste Retrospektive des Künstlers im deutschen Sprachraum.