Current Exhibition

Brecht Evens
Night Animals

12.9.2020 — 31.1.2021

05 Evens Les Rigoles 2019

© Brecht Evens «Les Rigoles» Actes Sud 2019 Courtesy Galerie Martel Paris

Brecht Evens released his first graphic novel “The Wrong Place” 10 years ago, causing a sensation far and wide. The distinctive unconventional watercolour technique that Evens used, devoid of outlines, was enthusiastically received. Without panels, and in subtle bright colours, the characters, backgrounds and painted colourful text merge with one another.
Published when Evens was only 23 years old, “The Wrong Place” tells the story of his generation, for which nothing is more important than having the right friends and belonging to the right peer group.
His brilliant debut comic won multiple awards and became a bestseller. Evens continued to develop his style in his subsequent graphic novels “The Making Of” (2011), “Panther” (2014) and “The City of Belgium” (2018). In his images, which have a fascinatingly luscious glow and are virtually loaded with magic, everything is masterfully interconnected: the characters, the backgrounds and even the text, which is also dabbed on with a brush. Sophisticated interplay of superimposition and transparency brings out the depicted people’s inner workings, making feelings and atmospheres visible, and indeed almost tangible – not least in “The City of Belgium”, which describes three individuals’ journeys through an overlong frenzied night.
Brecht Evens was born in 1986 in Flemish Hasselt. He studied at the LUCA School of Arts in Ghent. Today, he lives and works in Paris. For his graphic novels, which have been translated into several languages, Brecht Evens has won numerous prestigious awards, including two “fauves” at the Festival International de la Bande Dessinée in Angoulême. In addition to comics, Brecht Evens has also published a portrait of Paris, his adopted home, in the Fondation Louis Vuitton Travel Books series. He also draws for renowned magazines and newspapers, such as “The New York Times”, “Libération”, as well as for designer fashion brand Cotélac. In Antwerp (2012) and Brussels (2018), Evens has created large frescos.
In an exhibition covering all his work, Cartoonmuseum Basel presents originals by this up-and-coming Belgian artist, some of which are in large formats.

Admission

Sfr. 12.— Adults
Sfr. 7.— Disabled persons,
students up to 25 years

3679 2586

© Cartoonmuseum Basel 2020

3679 2214
3679 1996
16 Evens Pantère 2014 Hintergrund Website

© Brecht Evens «Panthère» Actes Sud 2014 Courtesy Galerie Martel Paris

06 Evens Les Rigoles 2019 Hintergrund Website

© Brecht Evens «Les Rigoles» Actes Sud 2019 Courtesy Galerie Martel Paris

3679 2111
14 Evens Louis Vuitton Travel Book 2016 Hintergrund Website

© Brecht Evens Louis Vuitton Travel Book 2016 Courtesy Galerie Martel Paris

Kommende Ausstellung

Brecht Evens
Night animals

13.6. — 25.10.2020

Brecht Evens Teilbild

© Brecht Evens «Les Rigoles» 2019

Vor 10 Jahren erscheint Brecht Evens erste Graphic Novel «Am falschen Ort» und sorgt weitherum für Furore. Evens begeistert mit der eigenwilligen, konturlosen Aquarelltechnik, die seine Arbeit unverkennbar macht. Ohne Panels, in einer subtilen und leuchtenden Farbigkeit gehalten, fliessen die Figuren, die Hintergründe und die ebenfalls gemalten bunten Texte ineinander.
In «Am falschen Ort» erzählt der damals erst 23-jährige Evens die Geschichte seiner Generation, in der nichts wichtiger ist, als die richtigen Freunde zu haben und der richtigen Peergroup anzugehören.
Sein fulminantes Debüt mausert sich zum vielfach preisgekrönten Comic-Bestseller. In den folgenden Graphic Novels «Die Amateure» (2011), «Panter» (2014) und «Les Rigoles» (2019) entwickelt Even seinen Stil weiter. Seine Bilder faszinieren dank den satt glühenden, geradezu magisch aufgeladenen Bildern, in denen alles virtuos ineinandergreift, die Figuren, die Hintergründe und auch die ebenfalls mit Pinsel hingetupften Texte. Das raffinierte Spiel aus Überlagerung und Transparenz lässt das Innenleben der Personen nach aussen treten und macht Gefühle und Atmosphären sichtbar, ja geradezu spürbar - nicht zuletzt in «Les Rigoles», das die Wege dreier Menschen durch eine überlange, rauschhafte Nacht nachzeichnet.
Geboren ist Brecht Evens 1986 im flämischen Hasselt. Er studiert an der LUCA School of Arts in Gent und lebt und arbeitet heute in Paris. Für seine in mehrere Sprachen übersetzten Graphic Novels hat Brecht Evens zahlreiche renommierte Preise gewonnen, darunter zwei Fauves am Festival International de la Bande Dessinée in Angoulême. Neben Comics veröffentlicht Brecht Evens in der Travel-Book-Reihe der Fondation Louis Vuitton ein Porträt seiner Wahlheimat Paris. Daneben zeichnet er für renommierte Magazine und Zeitschriften wie etwa «The New Yorker», «Libération», «The New York Times», für die Pariser Oper, für den Mode-Designer Cotelac. In Antwerpen (2012) und Brüssel (2018) hat Evens grosse Fresken geschaffen.
Das Cartoonmuseum Basel zeigt die teilweise grossformatigen Originale des aufstrebenden belgischen Künstlers in einer Ausstellung, die alle Werke umfasst.