Current Exhibition

Christoph Fischer
The world put on paper

21.3. — 1.6.2020

Christoph Fischer Bahnhofplatz Luzern

© Christoph Fischer, «Auf der langen Bank», 2012

Artist Christoph Fischer, born in 1976 in Lucerne, attended the Lucerne University of Teacher Education and subsequently the Lucerne School of Art and Design. Since 2002, he has worked as a freelance artist and illustrator, e.g. for the publications “NZZ”, “WOZ” and “Reportagen”.
In his work, an interest in the downtrodden and the underprivileged serves as a leitmotif. With works of reportage, such as “Chicago Westside” (2011) about an impoverished district and “On the Long Bench” (2012) about Bahnhofsplatz Lucerne, he deliberately draws our attention to the faces of people on the fringes of society. His sensitive no-frills portraits are loaded with stories, arousing interest and empathy. At a busy Lucerne roundabout, there stands further evidence of Christoph Fischer’s focus on such subject matter. Here, he spent years observing the street sweeper Heinz Gilli from his studio and, in 2016, created a monumental concrete sculpture for him and the residents of this neighbourhood plagued by noise.
Besides working, Fischer often goes on long cycling trips. In 2010, a several-month tour took him from Chicago to San Francisco. Slow prolonged muscle-powered travel and precise observation are to be found all throughout his biography and inspire his work, for instance when he photographed animals that had been run over in the USA and laid them down as a sad sequence in “Roadkill Road”.
The oeuvre of this artist, who was awarded the 2019 German-Speaking Swiss Cities’ Comics Scholarship, is presented at Cartoonmuseum Basel in its full breadth, including the first ever presentation of drawings selected from hundreds of sketched dreams. These visions also appear in While I Was Sleeping, a Christoph Merian Verlag publication, released to coincide with the exhibition.

Admission

Sfr. 12.— Adults
Sfr. 7.— Disabled persons,
students up to 25 years

3670 9425
10 Fischer Krückenzigarette 009027
3670 9509
02 Fischer Während Ich Schlief 2020
3670 9340
3670 9713
10 Fischer Chicago Westside 2010

Kommende Ausstellung

Christoph Fischer
Der Welt abgeschaut

21.3. — 1.6.2020

Christoph Fischer Bahnhofplatz Luzern

© Christoph Fischer, «Auf der langen Bank», 2012

Der 1976 in Luzern geborene Künstler Christoph Fischer besuchte das Lehrerseminar und darauf die Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst Luzern. Seit 2002 arbeitet er als selbstständiger Zeichner und Illustrator, unter anderem für die «NZZ», die «WOZ» und «Reportagen».


Ein Leitmotiv seiner Arbeit ist das Interesse für Gestürzte und weniger Privilegierte. Gezielt lenkt er in seinen gezeichneten Reportagen «Chicago Westside» (2011) über einen verarmten Stadtteil und «Auf der langen Bank» (2012) zum Bahnhofsplatz Luzern unseren Blick auf die Gesichter von Menschen, die am Rand der Gesellschaft stehen. Seine ungeschönten, sensiblen Porträts sind aufgeladen mit Geschichten und wecken Interesse und Empathie. An einem viel befahrenen Luzerner Kreisel steht ein anderes Zeugnis von diesem inhaltlichen Fokus Christoph Fischers. Dort, von seinem Atelier aus, beobachtete er über Jahre den Strassenwischer Heinz Gilli und schuf 2016 für ihn und die lärmgeplagten Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner des Quartiers eine monumentale Betonskulptur.


Neben seiner Arbeit unternimmt Fischer immer wieder lange Reisen mit dem Fahrrad. 2010 führte ihn eine mehrmonatige Tour von Chicago nach San Francisco. Das langsame, ausgedehnte Reisen mit Muskelkraft und das genaue Hinschauen durchziehen seine Biografie und inspirieren seine Arbeit, zum Beispiel, als er in den USA überfahrene Tiere fotografierte, die er in «Roadkill Road» als traurigen Reigen festhielt.


Das Cartoonmuseum Basel zeigt die ganze Breite des Werks des 2019 mit einem Comic-Stipendium der deutschsprachigen Städte ausgezeichneten Künstlers, darunter erstmals eine zeichnerisch umgesetzte Auswahl aus Hunderten von skizzierten Träumen. Im Christoph Merian Verlag erscheint mit der Ausstellung eine Publikation dieser Traumbilder.