Upcoming Exhibition

Cosey

12.11.2022 — 12.3.2023

CMB Cosey 2021

© Cosey 2021

With his realistic, wonderfully confident line work in the internationally renowned comic series Jonathan, comics artist Cosey from Western Switzerland takes us on journeys – through the breathtaking expanses of Asian, North American and European landscapes, and into his protagonists’ inner workings. In 1950, Cosey was born (as Bernard Cosendai) into a family from the USA in Lausanne, so he has always been confronted with questions of identity and belonging. Today, Cosey is one of the most important European comics artists who, initially against the backdrop of the cultural upheavals of the 1960s and 1970s, have enhanced the comic for an adult audience, with sophisticated themes and literary aspirations.

After an apprenticeship in graphic design, Cosey worked from 1970 as an assistant and colourist for his idol, the artist Derib from Western Switzerland. In 1975, he started to draw for the Belgian magazines Tintin and Spirou, and launched his long-running series Jonathan, whose final album appeared in 2021. ‘Souviens-toi’, the first volume in this 16-part series, takes the main protagonist, the dropout Jonathan, to the Himalayas on a search for his childhood sweetheart, Saïcha of Tibet. In this and the following 16 stories in the series, the focus is not solely on the adventures of Cosey’s alter ego Jonathan, but also on the complexly designed main characters’ search for meaning, as well as their philosophical and spiritual questions. The artist incorporates his own travel experiences, along with references to literature, film and music, while also linking the plot to political facts, such as China’s occupation of Tibet.

Besides his magnum opus, Cosey has also published highly acclaimed one-shot albums, such as ‘À la Recherche de Peter Pan’, ‘Le Voyage en Italie’, ‘Joyeux Noël, May’, ‘Zeke raconte des Histoires’ and the atypical ‘Une mystérieuse mélodie où Comment Mickey rencontra Minnie’: a Disney-authorised comic album entirely in the style of Floyd Gottfredson, the most legendary Mickey Mouse illustrator.

In 2017, the International Comics Festival in Angoulême awarded Cosey the Grand Prix for his life’s work. Cartoonmuseum Basel is honouring this multi-award-winning artist’s oeuvre in a retrospective – the first in the German-speaking world. It encompasses original drawings, including pages from the latest and final volume of Jonathan, as well as sources of inspiration, photographs, sketchbooks and films.

Kommende Ausstellung

Cosey

13.11.2022 — 12.3.2023

CMB Cosey 2021

© Cosey 2021

In der international bekannten Comicserie «Jonathan» führen uns der Westschweizer Comiczeichner Cosey und sein realistischer, wunderbar sicherer Strich auf Reisen – durch die atemberaubende Weite von Landschaften in Asien, Nordamerika und Europa und in das Innenleben seiner Protagonisten. Cosey, 1950 als Bernard Cosendai in Lausanne in eine aus den USA stammende Familie geboren, sind Fragen nach Identität und Zugehörigkeit in die Wiege gelegt. Heute ist Cosey einer der wichtigsten europäischen Comiczeichner, die vor dem Hintergrund der kulturellen Umwälzungen der 1960er- und 1970er-Jahre den Comic für ein erwachsenes Publikum mit anspruchsvollen Themen und literarischem Anspruch erweitert haben.

Nach einer Grafikerlehre arbeitet Cosey ab 1970 als Assistent und Kolorist für sein Idol, den Westschweizer Zeichner Derib, ab 1975 zeichnet er für die belgischen Zeitschriften «Tintin» und «Spirou» und startet seine langjährige «Jonathan»-Reihe, deren finales Album 2021 erscheint. «Souviens-toi, Jonathan …», der erste Band der 16-teiligen Serie, führt den Hauptprotagonisten und Aussteiger Jonathan in den Himalaya, wo er seine Jugendliebe, die Tibeterin Saïcha, sucht. Diese und die folgenden 16 Geschichten der Serie stellen neben den Abenteuern, die Coseys Alter Ego Jonathan erlebt, die Sinnsuche der komplex entworfenen Charaktere der Hauptfiguren und ihre philosophischen und spirituellen Fragen in den Vordergrund. Der Zeichner arbeitet eigene Reiserfahrungen und Verweise auf Literatur, Film und Musik ein und verknüpft die Handlung mit politischen Fakten wie der Besetzung Tibets durch China.

Neben seinem Hauptwerk veröffentlichte Cosey zudem stark beachtete Einzelalben wie «À la recherche de Peter Pan», «Le voyage en Italie», «Joyeux Noël, May», «Zeke raconte des histoires» sowie das untypische «Une mystérieuse mélodie ou Comment Mickey rencontra Minnie», ein vollständig im Stil von Floyd Gottfredson, dem legendärsten «Mickey Mouse»-Zeichner, gehaltenes, von Disney autorisiertes Comicalbum.

2017 verleiht das Internationale Comicfestival von Angoulême Cosey den Grand Prix für sein Lebenswerk. Das Cartoonmuseum Basel würdigt die Arbeit des vielfach ausgezeichneten Künstlers erstmals im deutschsprachigen Raum mit einer Retrospektive, die Originalzeichnungen, darunter Seiten des letzten und finalen Bands von «Jonathan», und Inspirationsquellen wie Fotografien, Skizzenbücher und Filme umfasst.