Upcoming Exhibition

Gabriella Giandelli

11.6. — 30.10.2022

CMB Gabriella Giandelli 2021

© Gabriella Giandelli 2021

The stories subtly drawn in coloured pencil and pastel by Italian artist Gabriella Giandelli (b. 1963) interweave everyday life and reality with beauty, poetry and secrets. In tribute to this internationally renowned artist and illustrator, who lives and works in Milan, Cartoonmuseum Basel presents a comprehensive retrospective exhibition, with original drawings and large-format works specially produced for the occasion.

Giandelli’s almost naive visual language, loaded with dreamlike surreal and magical situations, and largely devoid of words, makes her oeuvre distinctive. Animals and strange mythical creatures appear in abstracted cityscapes, while the beauty of nature is omnipresent. This is a magical colourful parallel universe with the power to open up new perspectives for us and to broaden them. Her best-known graphic novels to date, Silent Blanket (2000) and Interiorae (2015), tell of loneliness and isolation in dense memorable images. Her recent publication Australia, released as part of the Louis Vuitton Travel Books series, captures the intoxicating beauty and uniqueness of the Australian natural world.

Gabriella Giandelli attended film school in Milan and became known to a wide audience through her animated film series Milo, which was later adapted into French. In 1984, she started releasing comic strips, in comic magazines such as Alter Alter, L’Eco des Savanes, Dolce Vita, Frigidaire and Strapazin: all magazines with a broad understanding of comics, and an openness towards graphic and narrative experiments. She regularly works as an illustrator for newspapers and magazines, including La Repubblica, The New Yorker and Vanity. Giandelli has created children’s books for Italian, French and Spanish publishers, and designed patterns for fabrics, carpets, objects, watches and eyewear for design firms such as Alessi, Memphis, Alchimia, Swatch and Sottsass Associati.

Kommende Ausstellung

Gabriella Giandelli

11.6. — 30.10.2022

CMB Gabriella Giandelli 2021

© Gabriella Giandelli 2021

Die subtil mit Farbstiften und Pastellkreide gezeichneten Geschichten der italienischen Künstlerin Gabriella Giandelli (*1963) verweben Alltag und Realität mit Schönheit, Poesie und Geheimnissen. Das Cartoonmuseum Basel würdigt die in Mailand lebende und arbeitende, international renommierte Zeichnerin und Illustratorin in einer umfassenden Retrospektive mit Originalzeichnungen und grossformatigen, für die Ausstellung in Basel geschaffenen Arbeiten.

Giandellis fast naive, mit traumhaften, surrealen und magischen Situationen aufgeladene Bildsprache und der weitgehende Verzicht auf Worte machen ihr Werk unverwechselbar. In abstrahierten Stadtlandschaften erscheinen Tiere und seltsame Fabelwesen, die Schönheiten der Natur sind omnipräsent. Ein magisches, farbenreiches Paralleluniversum mit der Kraft, unseren Blick zu öffnen und zu erweitern. Ihre bisher bekanntesten Graphic Novels «Silent Blanket» (2000) und «Interiorae» (2015) erzählen in dichten und einprägsamen Bildern von Einsamkeit und Vereinzelung. Die aktuelle Publikation «Australia», die in der Travel-Book-Reihe von Louis Vuitton erscheint, fängt die berauschende Schönheit und Einzigartigkeit der Natur Australiens ein.

Gabriella Giandelli hat an der internationalen Filmakademie in Mailand studiert und wurde einem breiten Publikum bekannt durch ihre später auf Französisch adaptierte Animationsfilmserie «Milo». Ihre ersten Comics veröffentlichte sie ab 1984 u. a. in Comicmagazinen wie etwa «Alter Alter», «L’Écho des Savanes», «Dolce Vita», «Frigidaire» und «Strapazin», alles Magazine mit einem breiten Verständnis von Comics und Offenheit für grafische und erzählerische Experimente. Giandelli arbeitet regelmässig als Illustratorin für Zeitungen und Magazine wie «La Repubblica», «The New Yorker» und «Vanity». Sie hat Kinderbücher für italienische, französische und spanische Verlage geschaffen und Muster für Stoffe, Teppiche, Objekte, Uhren und Brillen für Designfirmen wie Alessi, Memphis, Alchimia, Swatch und Sottsass Associati gestaltet.