Upcoming Exhibition

Posy Simmonds

3.7. — 31.10.2021

Gemma In Coat

© Posy Simmonds «Gemma Bovery» 1999

British cartoonist, comics artist and children’s book author Posy Simmonds (b. 1945) has attracted attention internationally with the three graphic novels Gemma Bovery (1999), Tamara Drewe (2007) and Cassandra Darke (2018), and with their headstrong titular female characters. She fascinates with precise psychological portraits, mocks the shortcomings of the middle class and cultural scene, caricatures staidness, and criticises social developments. Relatively long text passages alternate with traditional comic sequences, while references to classics by writers such as Gustave Flaubert and Charles Dickens add further layers to the stories.
Posy Simmonds became famous nationwide for her strip The Silent Three of St. Botolph’s, which started appearing in The Guardian in 1977 and was about three long-time female friends. She later published it in books and developed it further to create her first graphic novel, True Love. Other publications of hers also started as strips in The Guardian. In the 1980s, she published several highly successful children’s books.
An elegant, clear and corporeal drawing style, profoundly developed characters, unerring humour and the alert mind of a great storyteller characterise all of Posy Simmonds’s works. Her graphic novels have been translated into several languages and some of her books have been made into films.
Cartoonmuseum Basel presents Switzerland’s first retrospective on this major British artist, with original drawings from all graphic novels and from her children’s books, as well as illustrations and cartoons for newspapers and magazines, plus unpublished preliminary work.

Kommende Ausstellung

Posy Simmonds

3.7. — 31.10.2021

Posy Simmonds Gemma-in-Coat

© Posy Simmonds «Gemma Bovery» 1999

Mit den drei eigenwilligen Frauenfiguren und gleichnamigen Graphic Novels «Gemma Bovery» (1999), «Tamara Drewe» (2007) und «Cassandra Darke» (2018) hat die britische Cartoonistin, Comiczeichnerin und Kinderbuchautorin Posy Simmonds (*1945) internationale Beachtung gefunden. Sie fasziniert mit präzisen psychologischen Porträts, verspottet die Unzulänglichkeiten der Mittelschicht und der Kulturszene, karikiert Biederkeit und kritisiert gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen. Längere Textpassagen wechseln mit klassischen Comicsequenzen ab, Bezüge zu Klassikern von Schriftstellern wie Gustave Flaubert und Charles Dickens fügen den Geschichten weitere Ebenen hinzu.


Posy Simmonds wird landesweit bekannt durch ihren ab 1977 im «The Guardian» erscheinenden Strip «The Silent Three of St. Botolph’s» über drei langjährige Freundinnen. Später veröffentlicht sie diesen in Büchern und entwickelt ihn in ihrer ersten Graphic Novel «True Love» weiter. Auch weitere Publikationen von ihr starten als Strip im «The Guardian». In den 1980er-Jahren veröffentlicht sie mehrere sehr erfolgreiche Kinderbücher.


Ein eleganter, klarer und körperhafter Zeichenstil, die tiefgründig ausgearbeiteten Figuren, der treffsichere Humor und der wache Geist einer grossartigen Erzählerin zeichnen alle Arbeiten von Posy Simmonds aus. Ihre grafischen Romane wurden in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt, einige ihrer Bücher wurden verfilmt.


Das Cartoonmuseum Basel zeigt erstmals in der Schweiz eine Retrospektive der bedeutenden britischen Zeichnerin mit Originalzeichnungen aus allen Graphic Novels und den Kinderbüchern, Illustrationen und Cartoons für Zeitungen und Magazine sowie unveröffentlichten Vorarbeiten.