Cartoonmuseum Basel

St.Alban-Vorstadt 28
CH-4052 Basel
Tel. +41 (0)61 226 33 60
Fax +41 (0)61 226 33 61
info@cartoonmuseum.ch
Tue—Sun 11am—5pm

Sfr. 12.— Adults
Sfr. 7.— Disabled persons and students up to 25 years
Children up to ten years free

Getting there

The Cartoonmuseum Basel is on the Grossbasel side of the Rhine, between the Kunstmuseum and the Museum für Gegenwartskunst.

On foot

A 10-minute walk from the SBB railway station (Bahnhof SBB), across Elisabethenanlage to Bankverein, then straight ahead to the Kunstmuseum. Turn right into St. Alban-Vorstadt.

Public transport

From the SBB railway station (Bahnhof SBB): Take tram No. 2 in the direction of Eglisee, get off at "Kunstmuseum", walk down St. Alban-Vorstadt for about 100 metres.

From the DB railway station (Badischer Bahnhof): Take tram No. 2 in the direction of Binningen, get off at "Kunstmuseum", walk down St. Alban-Vorstadt for about 100 metres.

By car

Autobahn A5 from Germany and France: Exit Breite

Autobahn A2/A3 from Berne, Lucerne and Zurich: Exit City

Wheelchairs

Only the ground floor of the museum is accessible for wheelchairs.

Newsletter

Would you like to be informed regularly about our activities? In the newsletter you will receive our programme about 3–4 times a year, so far in German only. Please apply with the form below. Thanks a lot.

Free

Museums-Pass-Musées,
Schweizer Museumspass,
Raiffeisenkarte, VMS/AMS,
ICOM, Colour Key
You can buy the Museums-Pass-Musées as well as the Swiss Museum Pass on your next visit directly in our shop.

Special opening times


Rebuilding of the Exhibition

  • Monday, 11.11.2019 to Friday, 22.11.2019 closed

Christmas

  • Tuesday, 24.12.2019 closed
  • Wednesday, 25.12.2019 closed
  • Thursday, 26.12.2019 11am—5pm

New Year

  • Tuesday, 31.12.2019 closed
  • Wednesday, 1.1.2020 closed

Museums Night

  • Friday, 17.1.2020, 6pm—2am

Carnival

  • Tuesday, 3.3.2020 closed
  • Wednesday, 4.3.2020 closed

Rebuilding of the Exhibition

  • Monday, 9.3.2020 to Friday, 20.3.2020 closed

Easter

  • Good Friday, 10.4.2020, closed
  • Easter Sunday, 12.4.2020, 11am—5pm
  • Easter Monday, 13.4.2020, 11am—5pm

Labour Day

  • Friday, 1.5.2020, 11am–5pm

Ascension Day

  • Thursday, 21.5.2020, 11am–5pm

Whitsun

  • Whit Sunday, 31.5.2020, 11am—5pm
  • Whit Monday, 1.6.2020, 11am—5pm

Rebuilding of the Exhibition

  • Tuesday 2.6.2020 to Friday 12.6.2020 closed

Swiss National Day

  • Saturday, 1.8.2020, 11am–5pm

Rebuilding of the Exhibition

  • Monday 26.10.2020 to Friday 6.11.2020 closed

Christmas

  • Thursday, 24.12.2020 closed
  • Friday, 25.12.2020 closed
  • Saturday, 26.12.2020, 11am—5pm

New Year

  • Thursday, 31.12.2020 closed
  • Friday, 1.1.2021 closed




For school classes and groups with a guided tour, the museum is open by appointment outside of the opening times.